The Night Ministry Do You Need Services? Our Programs Volunteer About Us Contact Us Facts & Figures
Mission Statement
Our History
Board of Directors
Associate Board
Annual Reports
Lead Campaign Donors
Jobs & Internships

The Night Ministry honors individuals, corporations, and organizations who have made significant contributions assisting individuals in Chicago struggling with poverty, homelessness, abuse, loneliness, and neglect at their annual Lighting Up the Night Awards Dinner & Auction every year.

2017 - we honored the Joseph & Bessie Feinberg Foundation, Anne Pramaggiore, President and CEO of ComEd, chaired the event, and Robert H. Jordan, Jr., veteran newsman of WGN-TV and Board Member Emeritus of The Night Ministry, was the emcee.

2016 - it was a particularly special event, as The Night Ministry celebrated 40 years of providing housing, health care, and human connection to adults and youth experiencing poverty and homelessness in our community. The Night Ministry's Board of Directors hosted the event and Board Member, Dave Berger, chaired the 2016 Dinner Committee.WGN-TV News at Nine Weeekend Anchor, Robert H. Jordan, Jr. was rhe Master of Ceremonies.

2015 - we honored Gordon & Paula Addington (President’s Award), Windy City Times (Outstanding Community Partner Award), and Kristen Kelly and Anne de Mare of Spargel Productions (Outstanding Community Advocate Award). Laurie McCollum & Carl Warschausky, President & CEO at World Kitchen, and Beth & Chuck Boehrer, of Winston & Strawn, LLP chaired the event. Neil Steinberg, Chicago Sun-Times Columnist, was the emcee.

2014 - we honored Janine Landow –Esser (President’s Award), Winston & Strawn LLP (Outstanding Corporate Partner Award), and LakeView Lutheran Church (Outstanding Community Partner Award). Ken Perlmutter, Founder and President of PERL Mortgage, Inc chaired the event. Neil Steinberg, Chicago Sun-Times Columnist, was the emcee.

2013 - we honored Rotary Club of Chicago-Lakeview, volunteer, Willie Harris, and Peoples Gas. Frederick H. Waddell, Chairman and CEO of Northern Trust Corporation, chaired the event. Christian Farr, Reporter for NBC 5 News, was the emcee.

2012 - we honored Anne & Bill Goldstein, the Union Church of Hinsdale, and Bonnie Kepplinger for their outstanding service to The Night Ministry.

2011 - we honored The Night Ministry's first President, Reverend Thomas Behrens; Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Illinois, who has supported us for 20 years; and dedicated Health Outreach Bus volunteer Reverend Charles (Sandy) Rex.

2010 - we honored Quarles & Brady LLP, The Elizabeth Morse Charitable Trust (JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. and James L. Alexander, Co-Trustees), and long-time shelter volunteer Jan Gross Rotter.

2009 - we honored Ellen & Paul Gignilliat, Fourth Presbyterian Church, and The Employees of the Westin Michigan Avenue Hotel

2008 - we honored McCormick Foundation, Helen & Dick Thomas, and the Congregation of Anshe Emet.

2007 - we honored ComEd, An Exelon Company, First Slice, and long-time supporters, Chet Gougis & Shelly Ochab.

2006 – we awarded our Lamp Lighter Award to the Lead Donors to our Capital Campaign and volunteer, Matthew Sorenson.

2005 – we honored Kraft Foods, Kenilworth Union Congregation, and volunteer, Jane Sanderson, with our Lamp Lighter Award.

2004 – we recognized long-time supporters of The Night Ministry Karen & Dick Pigott, Sara Lee Foundation, and Elvina Moen with Lamp Lighter Awards.

2003 – we awarded our Lamp Lighter Award to Merisant, Makers of Equal Sweetener, Philip McGuigan, a Trustee of the Francis Asbury Palmer Fund, and a family of volunteers, the Melzer Family.

2002 – we honored Peoples Energy Chairman, Richard Terry, DePaul University President, John Minogue and volunteer, Mory Sanberg, with our Lamp Lighter Award.

2001 – we recognized The Chicago Stock Exchange and Robert Forney, Night Ministry Board Member, with our Lamp Lighter Award.

2000 – we awarded Richard Notebaert, Northern Trust, and The Greater Chicago Food Depository with our Lamp Lighter Award for helping to “light up the night” with their good works.

1998 – we honored Mr. Frederick Becker, President & CEO of the Marmon Group, Inc. with our Luminary Award for his personal and corporate contributions to The Night Ministry.

1997 - we recognized Dr. & Mrs. Andrew Thomson for their service & dedication.

1981 - we awarded Rev. Frederick Trost of St. Pauls United Church of Christ in Chicago The Night Ministry’s Service Award for his work in the church and community. Rev. Trost was also one of the pastors responsible for founding The Night Ministry.

Our Programs
  |  Volunteer  |  Donate  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Facts & Figures  |  Privacy  |  Site Map
Terms of Use     ©2006-2017 The Night Ministry  4711 N. Ravenswood Ave., Chicago, IL 60640 Tel: 773-784-9000